Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Treasured Grace by Tracie Peterson

Treasured Grace is the first book in the Heart Of The Frontier trilogy by Tracie Peterson, a historical fiction series set in the late 1840s western frontier of the United States. The trilogy focuses on three sisters (Grace, Hope, and Mercy) who lost their parents and now must rely on God's strength to endure. Grace secures safety and care for herself and her sisters by marrying a Reverend headed west from St. Louis to Oregon by wagon train. However, when the Reverend dies en route, the sisters' future becomes unclear and they seek refuge at the Whitman Mission for the winter.

Tracie has entwined historical events and situations into a beautiful story of God's redemption for those who seek Him. She reminds us that no matter how many hardships we face or how much pain we hold in our past, the key to our future lies in forgiveness and mercy through a personal relationship with God. Each of the characters in Treasured Grace has a story to tell, and a path that only God can reveal.

Treasured Grace does contain graphic scenes of violence pertaining to the Whitman Mission massacre and the abuse of the white women and children following that tragic event. I would not recommend this book for those who are faint of heart.

Overall, I'm giving this book 5/5 stars and look forward to reading the other two books in the trilogy (Beloved Hope and Cherished Mercy).

*Disclaimer: I received a free print copy of this book from Bethany House for the purpose of this honest review. All opinions are my own.*

About The Author (copied from back cover):
Tracie Peterson's love for history and research fuels the bestselling stories she writes. She is the author of over one hundred novels and the recipient of the 2011 ACFW Lifetime Achievement Award. Tracie and her family live in Montana.
Suggested Links:

No comments:

Post a Comment